Holacracy

As a relatively new framework, Holacracy offers an alternative to the conventional top-down management chain of command. By using a decentralized distribution of decision-making power, every employee is integrated into the development of the organization. Holacracy was created by software developer Brian Robertson, who introduced it in 2007 after numerous experiments using it in his own company.

The Power of Circles

In a Holocracy, employees do not have internal position and instead fulfill roles that have clearly defined areas of responsibility. These roles are structured in self-organized circles that fulfill various purposes and are positioned within higher circles.

Boris Gloger - Go Agile - Holocracy

Making Decisions in a Holacracy

So, is Holocracy a democratic approach? Yes, it is similar. Employees make decisions together in order to achieve the clearly defined goals of the working circle. But this doesn’t function according to a classical democratic majority decision. Instead, recommendations are only accepted once they can no longer be refuted with objective counterarguments.

Can Holacracy work in your company?

Let’s find out. Usually, a first test run is necessary to determine if Holacracy has potential for your organization.

Holacracy

Als relativ neues Framework bietet Holacracy eine Alternative zur Top-down-Befehlskette des konventionellen Managements. Durch die dezentrale Verteilung von Entscheidungsmacht wird jeder Mitarbeiter in die Weiterentwicklung der Organisation eingebunden. Holacracy wurde vom Software-Entwickler Brian Robertson entwickelt, der das Framework nach zahlreichen Experimenten in seinem eigenen Unternehmen 2007 vorstellte.

Die Macht der Kreise

In einer Holokratie haben Mitarbeiter keine Positionen inne, sondern erfüllen Rollen, deren Verantwortungsbereiche klar definiert sind. Diese Rollen sind in selbstorganisierte Kreise strukturiert, die unterschiedliche Zwecke erfüllen und den höheren Kreisen untergeordnet sind.

Boris Gloger - Go Agile - Holocracy

Entscheidungsfindung in Holacracy

Ist Holokratie also ein demokratischer Ansatz? So ähnlich. Mitarbeiter treffen zwar gemeinsam Entscheidungen, um die klar umrissenen Ziele der Arbeitskreise zu erreichen. Das funktioniert aber nicht nach der klassisch-demokratischen Mehrheitsfindung, sondern Vorschläge gelten erst dann als angenommen, wenn sie nicht mehr mit sachlichen Gegenargumenten widerlegt werden können.

Kann Holacracy in Ihrem Unternehmen funktionieren?

Finden wir es heraus. In der Regel ist ein erster Testlauf notwendig, um das Potenzial von Holacracy für Ihre Organisation zu bestimmen.